To mark 145th anniversary of Colombo Malay Cricket Club:

A netball carnival organized by the Colombo Malay Cricket Club (CMCC) in association with the Sri Lanka Netball Association and Sri Lanka Schools Netball Association will takae place at the CMCC Grounds (Padang), Kew Road Colombo 2, today.

The tournament will see a total of 11 clubs and 12 schools vying for glory under two categories; Club Open and Inter-Schools. The participating clubs are;CMCC, SL Army, SL Police, HNB, Expo Lanka. Presbyterian Girl’s School Club, Holy Family Convent, Kurunegala, Maliyadeva Kurunegala Club, Girls’ High School Kandy Club, Kalutara Balika Club and Cambel Team

The schools which will take part for the tournament are;

Dharmashhoka Girls’ School, Ambalangoda, Maliyadeva Girls’ School, Kurunegala, Holy Family Convent, Kurunegala, Hillwood College, Kandy, Girls’ High School, Kandy, Presbytarian Girls’ School, Dehiwala, Kalutara Balika National School, Gothami Balika Vidyalaya, Kolonnawa Balika Vidyalaya, Musaeus College, Seenigama School and Helena Wijewardena Girls’ School, Kelaniya.

The ‘Running-time’ concept, which is popular in countries such as Singapore and Malaysia, will add much vibrancy to the event as all the 6 courts will commence and end the matches under a common whistle blow. Commenting on this concept, Hyacinth Wijesinghe – Tournament Consultant stated, “We are grateful to CMCC for giving us the opportunity to introduce the new concept to Sri Lanka Netball.

News Courtesy of :

Membership Form
Book Ground